Phil Mickelson under fire after hitting putt before it stopped rolling

Adjust Comment Print

One day after running across the green and smacking a moving ball on No. 13, Mickelson rolled in a short putt to save par on that same hole at Shinnecock Hills.

On his 48th birthday, Phil Mickelson endured a testing afternoon in the US Open at Shinnecock Hills.

"Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates because he didn't want to - frankly, as he said to me: 'I don't want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified, '" said Mike Davis, the USGA's chief executive.

Mickelson, who is well out of contention for victory, said he knew the action would bring a two-shot penalty, and that he had hit the ball to prevent it from rolling all the way off the green and behind a bunker.

More news: Immigrant children separated from families won't be reunited right away, administration says

"I think it's just one of them moments when you're not thinking about it, it just happens and he did it", said the burly Englishman, whose nickname is "Beef".

"There are legal limits to how much slope you can put a hole on and I would say that was beyond the legal limit". The key verbiage in that rule is that a player "must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving". "It's amusing. I just wanted to get to the next hole and did not see that happening without the two shots".

This is one of the more surprising things you'll see.

He needed eight strokes to get the ball in the hole and with a two-stroke penalty walked off with a sextuple bogey 10 on the way to his highest ever round in 27 US Open appearances of 11-over 81. It's my understanding of the rules. He goes across the water for an in-between wedge shot with no margin for error: water lurks short and jail long. But many people were so angered by the violation of the rules - and golf etiquette - that they called for his withdrawal from the tournament.

More news: Live score and latest updates as Mo Salah starts

The incident will always dog the colourful and often controversial Californian - he later told critics to "toughen up" - but Mickelson's mad-cap moment was just the start on a insane day at Shinnecock Hills. It's amusing. I just wanted to get to the next hole and did not see that happening without the two shots'. "His score for the hole was 10".

That's a move you don't see amateurs do in practice rounds, and Phil did it not only in competition, but in the U.S. Open!

Mickelson insisted he was not frustrated by the more hard hole locations in the third round. This heinous act of selfishness and disregard for the rules brought forth the penalty of the United States Professional Golf Association's Rules of Golf Rule 14-5. "Over the back on 15 at Augusta".

He was immediately issued with a two shot penalty for his actions and he's surely longing for the clubhouse now.

More news: Supreme Court rules states can collect sales tax for online purchases nationwide

"Former Masters and British Open champ Zach Johnson during an interview with ESPN's Bob Harig said: "[The USGA] lost the course".

Comments