Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray Receives Davey O’Brien Award

Adjust Comment Print

He is up against Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins and Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa for the Heisman Trophy which will be presented Saturday night.

Tagovailoa took home the Walter Camp Award as well as the Maxwell Award, both of which honor the nation's top player.

Tagovailoa received the Maxwell Award for player of the year while Murray was named the nation's top quarterback with the Davey O'Brien Award at the College Football Awards show in Atlanta.

More news: China promises prompt action on US trade pact

But, after an electrifying season that saw Murray eviscerate opposing defenses on his way to becoming a Heisman Trophy finalist, the 21-year-old might be eyeing a more exclusive path.

Earlier this week, Tagovailoa was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year. Tagovailoa received 13 first-place votes (117 points) and Haskins was listed first on four ballots (55 points).

The Walter Camp victor has won the Heisman the last five seasons. Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015.

More news: Former Attorney General William Barr contender for old job

- Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen won the Chuck Bednarik award as the nation's top defensive player. That battle, which will rage on this weekend in NY for the Heisman, was won by Kyler Murray. As a result, Murray is the fifth Sooner to take home the award, joining Sam Bradford (2008), White (2003, '04) and running back Billy Sims (1978). Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards, 37 touchdowns to four interceptions and has completed almost 68 percent of his passes. The 5-foot-9 signal-caller led the Sooners to a College Football Playoff berth while throwing for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns and rushing for 892 yards with 11 scores.

Murray is having a historic season. Kyler Murray transferred to Oklahoma after his freshman season, sat out a season per transfer rules and then backed up Mayfield. Jackson won the Heisman that season. "All the hard work with my teammates has really paid off".

More news: Matthew Dellavedova's trade to Cleveland Cavaliers, $26 million reason, Milwaukee Bucks