New 'unsend' feature on Facebook Messenger

Adjust Comment Print

"Happy Birthday, Facebook! 15 years today - and what a rollercoaster it has been", read the message released Monday on the newspaper's opinion page and on Twitter, in the style of Facebook compilation videos.

So, to be clear, the current "delete" option on Facebook Messenger only removes the message for you-the recipient can still see it.

Make sure you've updated the app on your iPhone or Android smartphone to get hold of the feature. A mere visual change.

More news: Days After Trump’s Warning, Iran Tests New Long-Range Cruise Missile

In addition, a number of recent reports have warned that Facebook and wider social media face stricter legislation if they continue to fail to fully protect users, particularly young people, from disturbing content on their platforms. Which was very annoying, and also not very clear to the user.

Facebook has finally promised the feature that internet users have been pining for - the ability to delete a regretful message from their chat history. From there you can choose to remove it from just your phone or from everyone in the chat. But it's pretty much useless if you drunk message your ex one night and then wake up the next morning realizing you made a awful mistake.

Deleting a message is relatively straightforward.

More news: Anthony Davis: Lakers offer SIX players in stunning trade deal to Pelicans

Why so late to the game?

On mobile, you just need to tap the message you want to delete and select "Remove from Everyone" to purge it from your group chats.

But if you have to use Facebook Messenger (as many of us do for various reasons) then this little delete feature is at least something. In his long post, Zuckerberg notes how the initial years of Facebook were filled with doubts on its survival.

More news: Scientists Look For Owner Of USB Drive Found In Leopard Seal's Poop

"But as people use these networks to shape society, it's critical we continue making progress on these questions".

Comments